How to Obtain a Balm Florida Police Report
If you have been injured in a traffic accident in the Balm area of Florida, the law enforcement agency responding will be the Hillsborough County Sheriff’s Office (HCSO). The HCSO has legal oversight for 888 square miles of unincorporated areas within the state. In just the first 4 months of 2019, HCSO recorded over 10,000 traffic accidents, with nearly 7,000 total occupant injuries.
At the scene of the crash, law enforcement will concentrate on pulling in the needed first responders, taking down information from all involved parties and witnesses, and then creating a written narration of the incident for the evidence record. You will want to obtain the officer’s business card and case number before leaving the location, although the official police report won’t be available for another 3-5 business days.
Traffic accidents are unexpected, and generally, catch everyone off guard. We are happy to help! Darrigo & Diaz is a local personal injury law firm, and always available to investigate the scene on your behalf. Call us now at (813) 774-3341 for a free consultation.
This resource page is provided as a public service to guide you through pertinent Florida statutes while offering the most expeditious methods for obtaining your Balm Police Report.
Florida Laws for the Custody and Release of Police Reports
Florida Traffic Control Statute § Section 316.066 (Written Reports of Crashes) mandates that all accident Police Reports requests less than 60 days old must be accompanied by a Sworn Statement, a copy of your current photo identification and proof of your exemption which allows you access.
Florida mandates that Police Reports are confidential documents for the first 60 days after the accident. As such, they are only available (within this confidential timeframe) to exempt parties; defined as involved parties, their representatives, attorneys, and insurance carriers as well as qualified media members.
After 60 days have passed the Police Reports become public record, and no sworn statement or identification is required for copies; although additional approval may be necessary for criminal incidents.
WARNING Any person, knowing that he or she is not entitled to obtain information made confidential by the above law, who obtains or attempts to obtain such information, is guilty of a felony of the third degree.
Requesting a Copy of Your Balm Police Report
The Public Records Section of the Hillsborough County Sheriff’s Office coordinates all requests for Balm Police Reports, which are processed and released according to Florida Public Records Statute §119.00.
There is no fee for a copy of your Balm Police Report, whether or not you are an involved party. However, should your inquiry require extensive research, statements or filmed recordings, you will be notified that a deposit is necessary prior to fill your request.
The Public Records Section of the Hillsborough County Sheriff’s Office coordinates all requests for records, which are processed and released according to Florida Public Records Statute §119.00.
HCSO Public Records Request Center
Please Note that under Florida law, email addresses are a public record which law enforcement agencies, as custodians, are required to release if discovered in response to another’s public records request.
Sworn Statement This fillable form from the FLHSMV department is for use by exempt parties, as described at the beginning of this section, during the first 60 days after the accident (aka the confidentiality period).
HCSO Records Section
Phone: (813) 247-0960
Hillsborough County Sheriff’s Office, Florida has jurisdiction over all unincorporated areas within the county, including yours. All Police Reports for Balm are maintained at the location below in Ybor City:
Hillsborough County Sheriff’s Office
Freddie Solomon Annex
1900 East 9th Avenue
Tampa, Florida 33605
Hours: 7:00 am – 4:00 pm
Days: Monday – Friday
A letter of request for your Balm Police Accident Report may be mailed to the following address:
Hillsborough County Sheriff’s Office
P. O. Box 3371
Tampa, Florida 33601
If it is within 60 days of the accident date, these records are confidential and only exempt parties and their representatives are allowed to access them. You must include a copy of your driver’s license to verify your identity and involvement in the accident, your case number, and your notarized Sworn Statement.
Once the Police Reports have become public record, no sworn statement or identification is required for non-criminal accident report copies.
Local Personal Injury Attorneys Available Now
There have been a total of 783 traffic fatalities between 2015 and 2018 in Hillsborough County. As disheartening as that may be, it only strengthens our law firm’s deep commitment to provide our clients with the strongest legal advantage available.
Please reach out to Darrigo & Diaz at (813) 774-3341 to discuss your Balm accident and to schedule a free case evaluation!