How to Obtain a Brandon Florida Police Report
All traffic accidents in the area of Brandon, Florida fall under the jurisdiction of the Hillsborough County Sheriff’s Office (HCSO), the law enforcement agency responsible for 888 square miles of unincorporated areas in our state. Unfortunately, just last year in 2018 there were 13,190 crashes with injury in Hillsborough County alone.
Once law enforcement arrives on the scene, they will be focused on getting support from the necessary first responders, recording information from involved parties and those who have remained as witnesses, and compiling the data to submit into the evidence record. You are usually given the officer’s business card and a case number, however the entire Police Report usually won’t be available for another 3-5 business days.
If you or a loved one has been injured in a crash, there’s so much going on that it’s nearly impossible to keep track. Our local firm is ready and available to discuss the accident and investigate the scene on your behalf. Please don’t hesitate to give us a call at Darrigo & Diaz (813) 774-3341 for a free consultation.
This resource page is provided as a public service to guide you through pertinent Florida statutes, while offering a variety of methods to obtain your Police Report.
Florida Laws for the Custody and Release of Police Reports
Florida Traffic Control Statute § Section 316.066 Written Reports of Crashes mandates that all accident Police Reports requests less than 60 days old must be accompanied by a Sworn Statement, a copy of your current photo identification and proof of your exemption which allows you access.
Florida mandates that Police Reports are confidential documents for the first 60 days after the accident. As such, they are only available within the confidential timeframe to exempt parties; defined as involved parties, their representatives, attorneys and insurance carriers as well as qualified media members.
WARNING Any person, knowing that he or she is not entitled to obtain information made confidential by the above law, who obtains or attempts to obtain such information, is guilty of a felony of the third degree.
Requesting a Copy of Your Brandon Police Report
The Records Section of the HCSO in Florida has provided us with the following details to assist in the acquisition of your Brandon Police Accident Report. You will find specific instructions within the following Online, In Person and By Mail sections.
There is no fee for a copy of your Brandon Police Report, whether or not you are an involved party. However, should your inquiry require extensive research, you will be notified that a deposit is necessary prior to filling your request.
The Public Records Section of the Hillsborough County Sheriff’s Office coordinates all requests for Brandon Police Reports, which are processed and released according to Florida Public Records Statute §119.00.
HCSO Public Records Request Center
Please Note: Under Florida law, email addresses are a public record which law enforcement agencies, as custodians, are required to release if discovered in response to another’s public records request.
Sworn Statement This fillable form from the FLHSMV department is for use by exempt parties, as described at the beginning of this section, during the first 60 days after the accident (aka the confidentiality period).
HCSO Records Section
Phone: (813) 247-0960
Hillsborough County Sheriff’s Office has jurisdiction over all unincorporated areas within the county, including Brandon, Florida. All Police Reports for your area are maintained at the location below in Ybor City:
Hillsborough County Sheriff’s Office
Freddie Solomon Annex
1900 East 9th Avenue
Tampa, Florida 33605
Hours: 7:00 am – 4:00 pm
Days: Monday – Friday
You can mail a request for your Brandon Police Accident Report to the following address:
Hillsborough County Sheriff’s Office
P. O. Box 3371
Tampa, Florida 33601
If it is within 60 days of the accident date, these records are confidential and only exempt parties and their representatives are allowed to access them. You must include: a copy of your driver’s license to verify your identity and involvement in the accident, your case number, and your notarized Sworn Statement.
After 60 days have passed the Police Reports become public records, and no sworn statement or identification is required for non-criminal accident reports.
Our Local Personal Injury Attorneys Mean Business
In 2019, Hillsborough County has experienced 4,002 traffic accidents with injuries through April 22nd! As disheartening as that may be, it only strengthens our firm’s deep commitment to give our clients the strongest legal advantage available. Please reach out to Darrigo & Diaz at (813) 774-3341 to discuss your Brandon accident and to schedule a free case evaluation!