How to Obtain a Riverview Florida Police Report

Traffic accidents that take place in Riverview, Florida fall under the jurisdiction of the Hillsborough County Sheriff’s Office (HCSO), which includes the oversight of traffic accident investigations for 888 square miles of unincorporated areas.

At the scene of a traffic accident there’s a lot going on. The Investigating Officer will bring in the necessary first responders, take names and contact information from involved parties and witnesses, and prepare a narrative (which will become a complete Riverview Police Report in another 3-5 business days). 

As much as we would like to see these numbers decrease — in 2019 there have been 9,135 total Hillsborough crashes by the end of April of April (31.47% of 2018’s total).  If you have the misfortune of being the victim of a traffic accident with serious injuries or the fatality of a family member, we want to help in every possible way we can. The firm of Darrigo & Diaz is just a phone call away at (813) 774-3341.

This resource page is provided as a public service to guide you through pertinent Florida statutes while offering the most expeditious methods for obtaining your Police Report.

Florida Laws for the Custody and Release of Police Reports

Florida Traffic Control Statute § Section 316.066 Written Reports of Crashes mandates that all accident Police Reports requests less than 60 days old must be accompanied by a Sworn Statement, a copy of your current photo identification and proof of your exemption which allows you access.

Florida mandates that Police Reports are confidential documents for the first 60 days after the accident. As such, they are only available within the confidential timeframe to exempt parties; defined as involved parties, their representatives, attorneys and insurance carriers as well as qualified media members.

WARNING Any person, knowing that he or she is not entitled to obtain information made confidential by the above law, who obtains or attempts to obtain such information, is guilty of a felony of the third degree.

Requesting a Copy of Your Riverview Police Report

The Public Records Section of the Hillsborough County Sheriff’s Office coordinates all requests for Riverview Police Reports, which are processed and released according to Florida Public Records Statute §119.00.

There is no fee for one copy of your Riverview Police Report, whether or not you are an involved party. However, should your inquiry require extensive research or filmed recordings, you will be notified that a deposit is necessary prior to filling your request.


The Public Records Section of the Hillsborough County Sheriff’s Office is the custodian for Riverview’s law enforcement records, which are processed and released according to Florida Public Records Statute §119.00.

HCSO Website Home Page

HCSO Public Records Request Center

Email: Records Custodian 

Please Note that under Florida law, email addresses are a public record which law enforcement agencies, as custodians, are required to release if discovered in response to another’s public records request.

Sworn Statement This fillable form from the FLHSMV department is for use by exempt parties, as described at the beginning of this section, during the first 60 days after the accident (aka the confidentiality period). 

By Phone

HCSO Records Section 

Phone: (813) 247-0960

In Person

Hillsborough County Sheriff’s Office, Florida has jurisdiction over all unincorporated areas within the county, including yours. All Police Reports for Riverview are maintained at the location below in Ybor City:

Hillsborough County Sheriff’s Office

Freddie Solomon Annex

Records Section  

1900 East 9th Avenue

Tampa, Florida 33605

Hours:  7:00 am – 4:00 pm

Days:   Monday – Friday 

Closed Holidays

By Mail

A letter of request for your Riverview Police Accident Report may be mailed to the following address:

Hillsborough County Sheriff’s Office

Records Section

P. O. Box 3371

Tampa, Florida 33601

If it is within 60 days of the accident date, these records are confidential and only exempt parties and their representatives are allowed to access them. You must include: a copy of your driver’s license to verify your identity and involvement in the accident, your case number, and your notarized Sworn Statement.

After 60 days have passed the Police Reports become public records, and no sworn statement or identification is required for non-criminal accident report copies.

Free Case Evaluation for Riverview FL Accidents

Of the 2019 to-date traffic crashes in Hillsborough 4,149 (45.42%) of these have resulted in injuries. It is our firm’s deep commitment to give our clients the strongest legal advantage they can find. Please contact Darrigo & Diaz at (813) 774-3341 for your free case evaluation!


Call now, or complete the form below to request a free consultation.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
What Our Clients Are Saying